msramlow

Learning to walk set you free. Learning to dance gives you the greatest freedom of all: to express with your whole self the person you are.–Melissa Hayden

Just Dance!

on January 24, 2012

Throughout my life, dance has always been a significant part of who I am.  At the age of three, my mom enrolled me in Audra’s Studio of Dance in Lincoln, IL.  At the time, I was just a little girl who told her mom that she wanted to dance.  I had no idea that it would turn into one of my truest passions.

When my mom enrolled me into dance, she signed me up for clogging, and no, I do not mean tap dancing.  Clogging is a form of dance similar to tap, but there are key differences between the two.  The two types of dance utilize similar shoes; yet, how the taps connect to the shoes are different.  In regards to tap shoes, the taps are stationary on the shoes, meaning they do not move.  With stationary taps, the dancer has to move his or her feet more often to convey several sounds.  As for clogging shoes, the taps are mobile.  By having moveable taps, a dancer is able to convey more sounds with fewer steps.

Another key difference between tap dancing and clogging is due to the style of the dance.  Clogging, especially in modern times, is very percussive and full of energy.  Often, the dances that I performed while clogging were to up-beat, lively songs.  On the other hand, tap dance focuses more on syncopation, which transmits lighter, more subtle sounds.

If you would like to learn more about clogging, please ask as I would love to share more about my passion with you!


Leave a comment